Sign in to follow this  
chconline

I'm getting owned - First term engineering

It's been hell since September when I began my first year in engineering school.

For one thing, I knew it was going to be 'hard', but I never knew it would be 'that' hard -- where I'm approaching failure in at least a couple courses. To be honest, I wasn't particular great in school (The 80%-ish student, but I graduated from one of the best high schools around here) but true failure was never a word in my books. Failure is anything below 80 like a lot of my friends, and I seem to be able to hold fairly well.

When I began class in engineering school, I knew I would have to kick up my work habits -- I used to not study, or barely study and work, and get the marks I've desired. Now that I actually do my homework, study with friends occasionally, and try to pay as much attention as I could in lectures, I just seem to be not able to get it. I admit I didn't work as hard as I've should, but I really, really dislike the courses I'm taking right now. Some of them are weeder courses, where they make it extra hard, and I have no interest in them either because I don't intend to major in those particular engineering disciplines. I plan to go into electrical engineering as that's my passion, which is not any of the actual engineering courses outlined below.

Courses I'm taking right now:

- Calculus (Easy stuff)

- Linear algebra (Its supposed to be the easiest course, but I failed the midterm for some reason, yet I ace my quizzes)

- Statics and Dynamics (That's the weeder course)

- Behavior of Fluids and Solids (Seriously, it's extremely boring for me)

- Design and Communication Tech (Where it's all group projects, no exams)