From CNET News.com: Facebook is finally getting around to deleting those embarrassing photos you thought you had already deleted.
For years, the social network had been unable to remove deleted photos from its servers, meaning that even though such a photo wouldn't be viewable on users' profiles, it would still be accessible on the Web via direct URLs to the image. However, that seems to have been resolved.
Facebook says its new photo-storage systems are in place, allowing for images to be permanently removed from its content delivery network (CDN) in a timely fashion. Images will not stick around on servers any longer than 30 day after users delete them, according to Facebook.
"As a result of work on our policies and infrastructure, we have instituted a 'max-age' of 30 days for our CDN links," Facebook spokesperson Frederic Wolens said in a statement. "However, in some cases the content will expire on the CDN much more quickly, based on a number of factors."
As with before, images will vanish from Facebook pages immediately upon users deleting them, he said.
View: Article @ Source Site