From DailyTech: The previous Facebook terms of service (TOS) stated that if a user closed his or her Facebook account, rights to original content posted on the profile would eventually expire. The recent TOS changes, however, give Facebook the ability to use uploaded content any way they see fit through an unending and irrevocable license.
Bloggers and Twitter users discovered the new TOS earlier this morning and a mini-uproar has taken place by a number of Facebook users.
According to The Consumerist:
You hereby grant Facebook an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid, worldwide license (with the right to sublicense) to (a) use, copy, publish, stream, store, retain, publicly perform or display, transmit, scan, reformat, modify, edit, frame, translate, excerpt, adapt, create derivative works and distribute (through multiple tiers), any User Content you (i) Post on or in connection with the Facebook Service or the promotion thereof subject only to your privacy settings or (ii) enable a user to Post, including by offering a Share Link on your website and (b) to use your name, likeness and image for any purpose, including commercial or advertising, each of (a) and (b) on or in connection with the Facebook Service or the promotion thereof.
The previous TOS had legal wording that essentially said content would expire at some point after user content is removed from Facebook.
"You may remove your User Content from the Site at any time. If you choose to remove your User Content, the license granted above will automatically expire, however you acknowledge that the Company may retain archived copies of your User Content."
View: Article @ Source Site